Bridge Nine Records


Mike Gitter "xXx Fanzine (1983-1988): Hardcore & Punk In The Eighties" - Book+LP

"xXx Fanzine (1983-1988): Hardcore & Punk In The Eighties" isn't merely a collection of articles, reviews, and photographs from one of hardcore America's best-known fanzines. It's a chronicle of punk's evolution in the '80s: a story of music and ideologies in motion. xXx's story picks up while the first wave of hardcore was in full swing. Major players including Minor Threat had already released landmark records and bands were loading up station wagons to play now infamous venues like The Channel, A7 or D.C. Space. While based in Boston, MA, xXx's main writer and editor, Mike Gitter, not only concentrated on his own city's burgeoning scene, spearheaded by bands like S.S. Decontrol and DYS, but looked to other states and countries for xXx's reportage. This 288-page book documents a time when hardcore and punk were not mutually exclusive and bands and cities had a chance to develop their own diverse and strident sounds. This creative ethos and aural zeitgeist is literally spelled out on the 19-song compilation that's included with xXx Fanzine, a limited-edition LP (available exclusively through mailorder or special sales outlets). A wide variety of current hardcore, punk and hard music luminaries including Strife, Letlive, Fu Manchu And The Riverboat Gamblers contributed their interpretations to some of the most influential songs to come from xXx's original era. Now, in addition to reproducing (and restoring) countless interviews and pages from the 'zine itself, xXx Fanzine re-interviews countless bands and musical prime-movers including Ian MacKaye, Keith Morris and members of Agnostic Front, Bad Brains and Cro-Mags to give the book a rare "then-and-now" perspective. "xXx Fanzine (1983-1988): Hardcore & Punk in The Eighties" isn't merely a look back at hardcore's salad days, but a unique look at how punk's music and message shook the mainstream itself. This is the yellow vinyl version, exclusive to Rev and limited to 300 copies.

Track Listing:

1. Strife - Who Are You?
2. Done Dying - Blending In
3. Letlive - Fix Me
4. Trial - Money
5. H2O - Safe
6. Nomads - How, When And Where/The Eliminator
7. Walter Schriefels - Society Suckers
8. Tombs - Kiss Of Steel
9. Voivod - Man In The Trees (live)
10. Aeges - Hungry Child
11. Lastlight - A Wish To Dream
12. Fuck You Pay Me - Religious Wars
13. Jesse Leech - Salad Days
14. Shai Hulud - Raw Power
15. True Rivals - Coolidge
16. Fu Manchu - When The Shit Hits The Fan
17. Gallows - Possibility Of Life's Destruction
18. American Nightmare - It's The Limit
19. Riverboat Gamblers - The Dicks Hate The Police